All Analogue Productions LP's
All ORG Original Recordings Group LP's
All Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab LP's
All Impex Records LP's
All ORG Music LP's
All Audio Fidelity LP's
All Music Matters LP's
All Hi-Q Supercuts LP's
All Reference Recordings LP's
All MPS Records LP's
All Analog Spark LP's

King Crimson Lizard LP 200 Gram Vinyl Robert Fripp Discipline Global Mobile DGM KCLP3 2012 EU

Artist: King Crimson
Title: Lizard
Catalog Number: KCLP3
Label: Island Records
Reissued by: Discipline Global Mobile
Barcode: 633367910318
Original release year: 1970
Reissue year: 2012
Number of discs: 1
Revolutions per minute: 33⅓ rpm
Disc size: 12"
Vinyl Weight Grade: 200gr
Limited Edition: Yes
Total Item Weight: 366gr
Pressing country: EU
For Market Release in: EU
Added to catalog on: November 1, 2016
Collection: King Crimson Robert Fripp Remasters
Note: Limited Eligibility for Discounts
Vinyl Gourmet Club: No


Unit Price: 21,37 €

Reference: PGYKC333GF

Availability: In Stock & Ready to Ship

submit to reddit


Lizard was King Crimson's third studio album and second recording of 1970. It was also the first Crimson album for which Robert Fripp provided all of the music. The return of 'Lizard' to the vinyl format is a new cut from masters approved by Robert Fripp, pressed on 200g Super Heavyweight Vinyl in a reprint of the original gatefold cover.



  • Limited Edition
  • 200 Gram Super-Heavyweight Vinyl
  • Newly Cut from Masters approved by Robert Fripp
  • Cut by John Dent at Loud Mastering
  • Featuring the Original 1970 Stereo Mix
  • Reproduction of the original Gatefold Cover



The third in a series of King Crimson high quality vinyl reissues marks the return of Lizard, newly cut from masters approved by Robert Fripp. Manufactured on 200g super heavyweight vinyl and housed in a reprint of the original beautiful gatefold sleeve.

King Crimson's third studio album and second recording of 1970, was, like its predecessor In the Wake of Poseidon, the product of a studio band. It was also the first Crimson album for which Robert Fripp provided all of the music. Remarkably self contained and sounding somewhat atypical for a King Crimson album, even by the standards of a band that rarely sounded similar from album to album, Lizard is an often overlooked and under appreciated gem from their early years.

Certainly at the time of release, anyone expecting an extension of the soundscapes introduced and explored on the band's earlier two albums was in for a surprise. As this lineup never toured, very little of the material was performed live and Lizard remained a product of the studio environment and the musicians who performed on it. Lizard remains a fascinating, intriguing album, one only a band called King Crimson could make, even if it was a very different King Crimson to that which had gone before or would come after.


"Lizard is very consciously jazz-oriented - the influence of Miles Davis (particularly Sketches of Spain) being especially prominent - and very progressive, even compared with the two preceding albums. The pieces are longer and have extensive developmental sections, reminiscent of classical music, and the lyrics are more ornate, while the subject matter is more exotic and rarified - epic, Ragnarok-like battles between good and evil that run cyclically. The doom-laden mood of the first two albums is just as strong, except that the music is prettier; the only thing missing is a sense of humor. Jon Anderson of Yes guests on one key number, "Prince Rupert Awakes" (which vocalist/bassist Gordon Haskell never completed), and the album is stronger for his presence. At the time of its release, some critics praised Lizard for finally breaking with the formula and structure that shaped the two preceding albums, but overall it's an acquired taste." - Bruce Eder, All Music




Bass – Gordon Haskell
Cor Anglais – Robin Miller
Cornet – Marc Charig
Drums – Andy McCulloch
Electronics – Robert Fripp
Flute – Mel Collins
Guitar – Robert Fripp
Keyboards – Robert Fripp
Mellotron – Robert Fripp
Oboe – Robin Miller
Piano – Keith Tippett
Saxophone – Mel Collins
Trombone – Nick Evans
Vocals – Gordon Haskell, Jon Anderson 

Track Listing:

01. Cirkus (Including: Entry Of The Chameleons)
02. Indoor Games
03. Happy Family
04. Lady Of The Dancing Water
05. Lizard
I. Prince Rupert Awakes
II. Bolero - The Peacocks Tale
III. The Battle Of Glass Tears (Including Dawn Song/Last Skirmish/Prince Rupert's Lament)
IV. Big Top


Click here to listen to samples on AllMusic.com






Everest Records - Classic Records by Analogue Productions
Blue Note Records 80th Anniversary
Verve Records
Detailed description of our Stock Status colors...
Showroom Vinyl Gourmet... see it, feel it... hear it!

Contact us

Phone: +351 96 777 5919



Secure Payment