All Analogue Productions LP's
All ORG Original Recordings Group LP's
All Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab LP's
All Impex Records LP's
All ORG Music LP's
All Audio Fidelity LP's
All Venus Records LP's
All Reference Recordings LP's
All MPS Records LP's
All Analog Spark LP's

Casiopea Casiopea LP Vinyl Alfa Music Great Tracks Bernie Grundman Sony Music 2021 Japan

Artist: Casiopea
Title: Casiopea
Catalog Number: MHJL 184
Label: Alfa Music
Reissued by: Sony Music
Original release year: 1979
Reissue year: 2021
Number of discs: 1
Revolutions per minute: 33⅓ rpm
Disc size: 12"
Limited Edition: Yes
Total Item Weight: 318gr
Pressing country: Japan
For Market Release in: Japan
Added to catalog on: November 7, 2021
Collection: Great Tracks
Note: Never eligible for any further discounts
Vinyl Gourmet Club: No


Add to Shopping Cart

Unit Price: 50,89 €

Reference: GT33L184GF

Availability: Coming Soon


Casiopea is an iconic Japanese jazz fusion-rock band that formed in 1977. Often called one of the most influential bands in the early Japanese fusion movement, Casiopea remained active for over 30 years. A memorable first album released in 1979 with guest participation by Brecker brothers and David Sanborn, remastered by Bernie Grundman.



  • Limited Edition
  • 2nd Pressing Clear Orange Vinyl
  • Great Tracks series
  • Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • Pressed by Sony Music, Shizuoka - Japan
  • Includes OBI Strip



It's hard to beat these premium sounds from the golden age of Japanese jazz-funk during the 70's on these perfect reissues pressed in Japan. Of course top quality is to be expected from Sony Japan pressing, the best Japanese music Made In Japan!


A memorable first album released in 1979 with guest participation by Brecker brothers David Sanborn, remastered by Bernie Grundman.


Casiopea, also known as Casiopea 3rd (カシオペア Kashiopea, derived from the name of the constellation Cassiopeia), is a Japanese jazz fusion band formed in 1976 by guitarist Issei Noro, bassist Tetsuo Sakurai, and keyboardist Hidehiko Koike. In 1977, keyboardist Minoru Mukaiya and drummer Takashi Sasaki joined, leaving out Hidehiko.


They recorded their debut album Casiopea (1979) with guest appearances by American jazz musicians Randy Brecker, Michael Brecker, and David Sanborn. In 1980, Sasaki was replaced by Akira Jimbo. Casiopea has released over 30 albums in Japan and around the world.





Alto Saxophone – David Sanborn
Bass – Tetsuo Sakurai
Drums – Takashi Sasaki
Electric Piano, Piano, Synts and Vibes – Minoru Mukaiya
Tenor Saxophone – Michael Brecker
Trumpet – Randy Brecker
Vocals, Electric and Acoustic Guitar – Issei Noro

Recorded at Studio "A", Shibaura, Tokyo from December 1978 to March 1979
Horns recorded at Power Station Studio, N.Y. on February 10, 1979, directed by Jun Fukamachi
Mixed at Studio "A", Shibaura, Tokyo, March 1979
This album was mixed using The Aphex Aural Exciter



Track Listing:


01. Time Limit
02. Tears Of The Star
03. Space Road
04. Midnight Rendezvous
05. Far Away
06. Swallow
07. Dream Hill
08. Black Joke


Click here to listen to samples on YouTube.com






Information for UK customers - Imports after Brexit - Vat & Duty
Blue Note Records 80th Anniversary
Acoustic Sounds Series
Detailed description of our Stock Status colors...
Showroom Vinyl Gourmet... see it, feel it... hear it!

Contact us

Phone: +351 96 777 5919 Chamada para rede móvel nacional


Secure Payment