All Analogue Productions LP's
All ORG Original Recordings Group LP's
All Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab LP's
All Impex Records LP's
All ORG Music LP's
All Audio Fidelity LP's
All Music Matters LP's
All Venus Records LP's
All Reference Recordings LP's
All MPS Records LP's
All Analog Spark LP's

Freedom Unity Takeru Muraoka Something LP Vinyl Liberty Universounds Deep Jazz Reality 2019 Japan

Freedom Unity Takeru Muraoka Something LP Vinyl Liberty Universounds Deep Jazz Reality 2019 Japan Maximize
Artist: Freedom Unity
Title: Something / Freedom Unity First
Catalog Number: UCJJ-9022
Label: Liberty Records
Reissued by: Universal
Barcode: 4988031355015
Original release year: 1971
Reissue year: 2019
Number of discs: 1
Revolutions per minute: 33⅓ rpm
Disc size: 12"
Limited Edition: Yes
Total Item Weight: 338gr
Pressing country: Japan
For Market Release in: Japan
Added to catalog on: November 7, 2021
Collection: Deep Jazz Reality
Note: Never eligible for any further discounts
Vinyl Gourmet Club: No


Unit Price: 57,15 €

Reference: DP339022JK

Availability: In Stock & Ready to Ship

submit to reddit


The Freedom Unity were an incredible Japanese jazz-funk fusion band. Their first album Something was recorded in 1970 and released on Liberty, followed by four albums on assorted labels in 1971. Band members are Akira Ishikawa (drums), Hiromasa Suzuki (electric piano), Hiroshi Suzuki (trombone), Kunimitsu Inaba (double bass) and featuring Takeru Muraoka (saxophone).


  • Limited Edition
  • Deep Jazz Reality series
  • Presented by Universounds
  • Produced by Yusuke Ogawa
  • Mastered and Pressed in Japan!
  • Includes OBI Strip



It's hard to beat these premium sounds from the golden age of Japanese jazz-funk during the 70's on these perfect reissues mastered and pressed in Japan. Of course top quality is to be expected from Universounds Deep Jazz Reality series curated and produced by Yusuke Ogawa, the best Japanese music Made In Japan!

A great bit of fusion from the start of the 70s – kind of a bridge between the late 60s "groovy" Japanese jazz, and some of the freer-thinking work to come! The group features excellent tenor from Takeru Muraoka, who plays with kind of a sharp edge that almost echoes more of the alto and soprano work of the generation – mixed with keyboards from Hiromasa Suzuki – who's plenty great on electric piano! Hiroshi Suzuki plays trombone, and the set's got some nice funky drums from Akira Ishikawa – who's always a treat. Overall, the set often has some of the same funky characteristics as some of the best late 60s electric jazz sets on Liberty Records in the US – on titles that include "Capricorn", "Something", "On A Sunny Day", "Some Other Night", and "Peaceful Planet". (Part of the "Universounds Presents – Deep Jazz Reality" series!)




Akira Ishikawa (drums)
Hiromasa Suzuki (electric piano)
Hiroshi Suzuki (trombone)
Kunimitsu Inaba (double bass)
Takeru Muraoka (saxophone).

Track Listing:


01. Capricorn
02. Something
03. On A Sunny Day
04. Some Other Night
05. Blue Soul
06. Peaceful Planet






Everest Records - Classic Records by Analogue Productions
Blue Note Records 80th Anniversary
Verve Records
Detailed description of our Stock Status colors...
Showroom Vinyl Gourmet... see it, feel it... hear it!

Contact us

Phone: +351 96 777 5919



Secure Payment