All Analogue Productions LP's
All ORG Original Recordings Group LP's
All Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab LP's
All Impex Records LP's
All ORG Music LP's
All Audio Fidelity LP's
All Venus Records LP's
All Reference Recordings LP's
All MPS Records LP's
All Analog Spark LP's

Johnny Cash Unearthed 9LP 180 Gram Vinyl Box Set + Book American Recordings Bernie Grundman 2017 USA

Artist: Johnny Cash
Title: Unearthed
Catalog Number: B0025730-01
Label: American Recordings
Reissued by: American Recordings
Barcode: 602557165906
Original release year: 2003
Reissue year: 2017
Number of discs: 9
Revolutions per minute: 33⅓ rpm
Disc size: 12"
Vinyl Weight Grade: 180gr
Extras: 64 Page Book
Limited Edition: Yes
Total Item Weight: 5300gr
Pressing country: USA
For Market Release in: USA
Added to catalog on: December 25, 2017
Note: Never eligible for any further discounts
Vinyl Gourmet Club: No


Add to Shopping Cart

Unit Price: 223,49 €

Reference: AMR339LPBX

Availability: Out of stock


Initially released on CD in 2003, Johnny Cash's Unearthed is now available on vinyl for the first time. Produced by Rick Rubin, this box set features outtakes and alternate versions of songs recorded for American Recordings, Unchained, American III: Solitary Man and American IV: The Man Comes Around. Also includes 64 page book and the final album is a best of the four American Recordings albums.



  • Limited Edition 9 LP Box Set
  • First time on vinyl
  • 180 Gram Vinyl
  • Produced by Rick Rubin
  • Cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • Housed in LP-sized black cloth slipcase
  • Deluxe cloth-bound book 
  • Annotations from Cash about every song
  • Rare photos and producer commentary
  • "My Mother's Hymn Book" Johnny's favorite gospel songs
  • Best of Cash on American Recordings



Johnny Cash's much-acclaimed box set of primarily unreleased material, Unearthed, is reissued as a nine-album vinyl box set. To celebrate the Man in Black's enduring and influential legacy, American Recordings and Universal have reconfigured this monolithic collection for its first-ever vinyl release, spreading Unearthed's 79 songs over nine high-quality 180-gram vinyl LPs while expanding the original box's distinctive packaging for the long-playing format.

The Unearthed vinyl box features a pair of cloth-bound books housed in an LP-sized black cloth slipcase. One book holds the nine LPs, while the other is a gorgeous 60-page coffee table book that incorporates Sylvie Simmons' extensive liner notes, drawn from five days of interviews at Cash's home in Tennessee, as well as Cash and Rubin's comments on every song on the set, plus a copious selection of photographs from the recording sessions, including some of the last photos ever taken of Cash.

Unearthed was originally released as a CD box set by producer Rick Rubin's American Recordings in November 2003, two months after the country superstar's passing. An expansive box set of material, most of it previously unreleased, recorded during the artist's graceful twilight years.

The set was originally planned to celebrate Cash and Rubin's decade of recording together, and the final mixes had been sent to Cash, but he passed away before receiving them. The recordings, which run the stylistic gamut from stark balladry to punchy rockabilly to heartfelt gospel to classic covers, offer a stunning encapsulation of Cash's wide-ranging musical vision, and provide a fitting epitaph for his iconic career. In its original CD format, Unearthed was acclaimed as an instant classic. Rolling Stone named it as one of the "100 Best Albums of the 2000s" and declared the set "a slice of American culture as monumental, and as enduring, as Mt. Rushmore."

Unearthed is divided into five thematic sections. Who's Gonna Cry focuses on acoustic solo recordings, and finds Cash revisiting several classic songs from his legendary catalog. Trouble In Mind is oriented towards electric performances, and includes guest appearances by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Carl Perkins and members of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, as well as Cash's wife and longtime duet partner June Carter Cash. Redemption Songs is largely acoustic, and features duets with Joe Strummer, Fiona Apple, Nick Cave and Glen Campbell. My Mother's Hymn Book demonstrates Cash's lifelong affinity for gospel music, encompassing 15 time-honored gospel standards. Best of Cash On American offers a memorable 15-song selection of highlights from Cash's first four albums with Rubin.

In the years since Cash's passing, the artist’s legend has grown and his music has gained in power. It's hard to think of a more appropriate and impressive send-off for this one-of-a-kind American original than the massive musical statement that is Unearthed.



Track Listing:


Unearthed Volume One: Who's Gonna Cry
LP 1 Side A:
1. Long Black Veil
2. Flesh And Blood
3. Just The Other Side Of Nowhere
4. If I Give My Soul
5. Understand Your Man

LP 1 Side B:
1. Banks Of The Ohio
2. Two Timin' Woman
3. The Caretaker
4. Old Chunk Of Coal
5. I'm Going To Memphis

LP 2 Side A:
1. Breaking Bread
2. Waiting For A Train
3. Casey's Last Ride
4. No Earthly Good

LP 2 Side B:
1. The Fourth Man In The Fire
2. Dark As A Dungeon

Bonus Tracks:
3. Book Review
4. Down There By The Train

Unearthed Volume Two: Trouble In Mind
LP 1 Side A:
1. Pocahontas
2. I'm A Drifter (Version 1)
3. Trouble In Mind
4. Down The Line

LP 1 Side B:
1. I'm Movin' On
2. As Long As The Grass Shall Grow
3. Heart Of Gold
4. The Running Kind (with Tom Petty)

LP 2 Side A:
1. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
2. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man (with Carl Perkins)
3. 'T' For Texas
4. Devil's Right Hand

LP 2 Side B:
1. I'm A Drifter (Version 2)

Bonus Tracks:
2. Like A Soldier (with Willie Nelson)
3. Drive On (Alternate Lyrics)
4. Bird On A Wire (Live with Orchestra)

Unearthed Volume Three: Redemtpion Songs
LP 1 Side A:
1. A Singer Of Songs
2. The L & N Don't Stop Here Anymore
3. Redemption Song (with Joe Strummer)
4. Father And Son (with Fiona Apple)

LP 1 Side B:
1. Chattanooga Sugar Babe
2. He Stopped Loving Her Today
3. Hard Times
4. Wichita Lineman

LP 2 Side A:
1. Cindy (with Nick Cave)
2. Big Iron
3. Salty Dog
4. Gentle On My Mind (with Glen Campbell)

LP 2 Side B:
1. You Are My Sunshine
2. You'll Never Walk Alone
Bonus Track:
3. The Man Comes Around (Early Take)

Unearthed Volume Four: My Mother's Hymn Book
Side 1:
1. Where We'll Never Grow Old
2. I Shall Not Be Moved
3. I Am A Pilgrim
4. Do Lord
5. When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder
6. If We Never Meet Again This Side Of Heaven
7. I'll Fly Away
8. Where The Soul Of Man Never Dies

Side 2:
1. Let The Lower Lights Be Burning
2. When He Reached Down
3. In The Sweet By And By
4. I'm Bound For The Promised Land
5. In The Garden
6. Softly And Tenderly
7. Just As I Am

Unearthed Volume Five: Best Of Cash On American
LP 1 Side A:
1. Delia's Gone
2. Bird On A Wire
3. Thirteen
4. Rowboat

LP 1 Side B:
1. The One Rose
2. Rusty Cage
3. Southern Accents
4. Mercy Seat

LP 2 Side A:
1. Solitary Man
2. Wayfaring Stranger
3. One
4. Hung My Head

LP 2 Side B:
1. The Man Comes Around
2. We'll Meet Again
3. Hurt


Click here to listen to samples on YouTube.com






Information for UK customers - Imports after Brexit - Vat & Duty
Blue Note Records 80th Anniversary
Verve Records
Detailed description of our Stock Status colors...
Showroom Vinyl Gourmet... see it, feel it... hear it!

Contact us

Phone: +351 96 777 5919 Chamada para rede móvel nacional


Secure Payment